Are We Over Those Resolutions Yet?

new-year-resolutions-15I didn’t make any resolutions for 2017, so I can honestly say that I am still keeping every one that I made!

All joking aside, I hinted last week that I have become very jaded with the ideas of resolutions as I have aged. It seems like the same things kept going on the list, and I was pretty much putting them on there because I felt like I “should.”

One day, I guess I had a lightbulb experience and started trying to figure out who was telling me that I should be those things. It turns out it was just the perfectionist inside my head. I was trying to make myself into something “perfect,” and beating myself up when I couldn’t make it.

So I quit.

Don’t get me wrong. Anyone who knows me personally knows that I am a highly driven person. It was only after meeting both sides of my extended family that it finally made sense to my husband that I place very little value on play. I have to have a purpose even when I relax. I am all about self-improvement, and I’m pretty much convinced it’s one of the big things that sets humans apart from every other species on the planet.

I quit beating myself up, and I quit trying to make myself do things just because somebody somewhere suggested that I should.

I started evaluating what brings me joy. I started learning to be ok with the idea that I am unique individual. I started pursuing the things that were important to me.  I’m even learning to ignore what people might be thinking about me. If I am attempting to live my life while being kind and honorable, and if I am willing to try to set misunderstandings right, then that is enough.

That’s when the magic started happening. That’s when I started freeing myself of mental baggage that had been holding me back. That when I really started becoming and achieving.

*****

I started this blog with the hope that I could challenge those who were willing to live a lifestyle that I find fulfilling — because I want them to feel fulfilled, as well. That’s why I’m going to close today with a challenge.

Would you examine you life and see what things you are pushing yourself to do simply because you feel like a nameless someone is expecting it of you? Will you stop worrying about what a group of faceless others might think? Will you plan your life around the things that are significant, important, and fulfilling? Will you seek meaningful self-improvement?

Leave a Reply

